Books & Rights Marketplace 
日本語  |  ENGLISH 
Welcome Question?
Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions  
First time user?
Please register online today !  
Register Now! 
MemberLog-in: Password: Login
Affiliated Partners
Author(Surname by initial)
This week's Top 10 Ranking 
1.  LOOPS ― The Seven ...
2.  The spiritual way ...

Become a fan of BRM

Promote Your Page Too
News & Events
2018.02.27 National Book Awards Goes Global with Translated Works
The National Book Foundation announced on January 31, 2018, that the translation category was added to the National Book Awards, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the United States. As a result, from this year, the award has five categories: Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry, Young People's Literature, and Translated Literature. 

According to the National Book Foundation, the National Book Awards began in 1950 to "honor the year's best" works of American literature. The number of categories has fluctuated throughout the Award's history, with many including translation being added in the 1960s and 1970s before being scaled back in the 1980s. Of the new category, David Steinberger, chairman of the board of directors of the National Book Foundation, said, “We now have the opportunity to recognize exceptional books that are written anywhere in the world, and to encourage new voices and perspectives to become part of our national discourse.”

In recent years, other literary prizes have turned their attention to translated works. From 2016, the United Kingdom's Man Booker International Prize became an award for fictional works translated into English. Like this prize, the prize money for the National Book Award for Translated Literature will be split evenly between the translator and the original author.  

For the National Book Award for Translated Literature, both the author and the translator must be alive at the time of submission, and the translation must be published in the United States during the same year. People of any nationality can apply. Translated works previously published in the United States will not be eligible, but the year the original work was published does not matter. After accepting submissions from March 7, 2018, the winner will be announced at the 69th Award Ceremony to be held in New York in November 2018.

For details, please visit: